TWO YEARS

This Marathi Bible site was launched by me two years ago on 22 June 2008, the 107th birth anniversary of my father, Ratnakar Hari Kelkar. My objective was to provide Marathi-knowing people anywhere in the world an easy internet access to the New Testament translated by him from Greek to Marathi.

Initially, all the 27 books of the Marathi New Testament translated by R. H. Kelkar and the Greek-Marathi Word-Book compiled by him, were made available on this site in downloadable pdf format. I then began been making regular additions to the site’s content, posting short Bible readings in jpeg image format for quick viewing. During the last two years, more than 550 such passages have been archived on this site, and they can be searched by topic, category, reference, keyword or date. I have also been designing wallpapers showing verses from the Marathi Bible and these have been immensely popular. I keep making new additions to these passages and expanding the wallpaper gallery.

It gives me great satisfaction and joy to see the growing readership of the Marathi Bible site over the last two years. In the first year 2008-09, there were over 17,000 hits, but in the second year 2009-10, the number of hits has exceeded 51,000. Several viewers have asked for their personal copy of the Nava Karar CD and I have sent it to them.

The Bible tells us that God does not change and that Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. Jesus himself said that even heaven and earth may pass away but his words will be there. However, it is we who are changing all the time. The languages that we use to communicate with our fellow human beings and with God are continuously evolving. That is why the Word of God needs to be re-translated again and again so that it remains clear and meaningful to an ever-changing world. This is what R. H. Kelkar did for the Marathi New Testament.

It is amazing to see how God chooses people to do his work and drives them to accomplish his purpose. William Carey who translated the first Marathi Bible at Serampore two centuries ago, had the initial training of a shoemaker. My father, R. H. Kelkar, worked for the Indian postal service. I am a retired meteorologist with no theological or literary background, but God has been leading me to use my little knowledge of computers and internet for creating and maintaining this Marathi Bible site. Like Paul said in 1 Corinthians 3:6, someone sows a seed, another waters the plant, but it is God who makes it grow.

In Isaiah 55, God explains the power of his word using simple imagery, that is particularly familiar to me as a meteorologist: “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways…As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth. It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

Hebrews 4 adds this: “For the word of God is living and active…Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” But following this chilling description, is a reassurance that God’s overriding grace is always there: “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

It is my primary aim that visitors to the Marathi Bible site may find the text that they are looking for, quickly and conveniently. I sincerely hope that by reading the appropriate passages, they find help, guidance, comfort and motivation while facing real life situations. It is my earnest prayer that by contemplating upon the Word of God, they are led to experiencing the abundant love of God, salvation through His Son Jesus Christ and the power of His Holy Spirit.

Please remember me and this site in your prayers.

R. R. Kelkar

22 June 2010

One response to “TWO YEARS

  1. Dear Daddy,

    Congratulations on the successful two year run of your website! May it continue do so and better in the future.

    Love,
    Tuhina

Write Your Comment

